Personal Revelation: God Speaks to me daily!

I was amazed when I discovered that Christians believe God still speaks to them today! As a Mormon I had always been told that only the LDS Church believed in continuing and personal revelation. But Christians don’t believe the heavens are closed! They receive personal revelation from Heavenly Father all the time. I relish the fact that God speaks to me personally every single day of my life! In addition to this amazing gift, the Holy Spirit dwells in my heart and guides me every moment of my life.

The Gospel Doctrine Lesson this week states that “Personal revelation is the way we learn divine truths.” It also claims it is “the way to receive guidance beyond our own limited understanding in answering life’s questions, meeting challenges, and making decisions.”

I’m here to tell you that this personal revelation comes to you when you read scripture! I have a very personal relationship with my Heavenly Father. I get to talk to Him through prayer and He speaks to me personally when I read His Words in scripture. We read of this truth when Jesus rebuked the Jews for not knowing scripture or the power of God. He told them that God literally spoke divine truths to them when they read scripture!

“But as touching the resurrection of the dead, have ye not read that which was spoken unto you by God, saying, I am the God of Abraham, and the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob? God is not the God of the dead, but of the living” (Mathew 22:31-32). God spoke to the Jews through scripture telling them the divine truth that Abraham, Isaac and Jacob were living prophets, not dead ones.

When I was LDS I didn’t know this truth, that God speaks to us personally through scripture. That’s because I didn’t understand the important truth that God’s Word is living and active! Now, I know it is the “sword of the Spirit” and so powerful it can literally pierce the soul and spirit of man. It also can discern the thoughts and intents of a person’s heart (Ephesians 6:17/Hebrews 4: 12).

The Holy Spirit actively works through the hearing or reading of God’s Word; this is actually how He works the miracle of faith in an unbeliever. Jesus claimed His Word was so powerful that a person is immediately granted everlasting life through hearing it and believing: “He that heareth my word, and believeth on him that sent me, hath everlasting life, and shall not come into condemnation; but is passed from death unto life.”

The authors of scripture didn’t use their own words to write it. They were inspired about what to say when the Holy Ghost moved them to write Words given to them. In fact, the inspiration of scripture was the mission of the Holy Ghost. Scripture is “able to make thee wise unto salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus. All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness” (2 Peter 1:20-21/2 Timothy 3: 15-17).

Because I believe and trust in God’s Word I do not stumble in darkness! I boldly proclaim that God’s “word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path” (Psalm 119:105). One of my favorite Psalms tells the importance of meditating on God’s Word:

“Blessed is the man that walketh not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor standeth in the way of sinners, nor sitteth in the seat of the scornful. But his delight is in the law of the LORD; and in his law doth he meditate day and night. And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper.” (Psalm 1).

Scripture written several hundred years earlier still “spoke” to Jesus and His Apostles, and they were guided by it daily. We read one example in the book of Romans where Paul talks about the Prophet Abraham. Paul reminds his readers of the scripture from Genesis saying that Abraham was imputed with righteousness because of his faith.

Paul then says “Now it was not written for his sake alone, that it was imputed to him; But for us also, to whom it shall be imputed, if we believe on him that raised up Jesus our Lord from the dead” (Romans 4: 20-25).

These scriptures were also written for your sake! If you “believe on him that raised up Jesus our Lord from the dead” you also will be imputed with righteousness through faith!!! Just like Abraham and anyone else whose trust is in what Jesus did for them—even me!

8 Comments

  1. Tommy said,

    January 30, 2009 at 8:57 am

    Thanks for such a wonderful post! I really enjoyed it!

    Indeed, the Word of God as found in the Bible has truly been an amazing thing in my life. Those who claim the Bible alone is not sufficient absolutely astound me, as it has always been more than enough for me. As I continue to study and read it daily, I am always amazed at the depth of the words written there. Even after I’ve learned so much from a simple passage of scripture, it seems that when I continue to study it, it is opened up to me on a whole new level I never experienced before. The depths one can find in a simple statement or phrase in the Bible are truly incredible.

    One of the things that actually kept me from joining the LDS Church was the fact that I decided to truly read the King James Bible in depth each day to find out what the Lord was trying to say to me. I decided that this was the one thing the LDS Church and the Christian background I had grown up with had in common, so it’s what I would use to help me figure things out. Although it’s not the only thing the Lord used in my life to help me through that time of confusion, it was definitely an anchor that ultimately showed me there were certain things that were simply not reconcilable between Mormonism and the Bible, which is why Mormons have to have that little cop out in the 8th Article of Faith: “…as far as it is translated correctly.” Praise God for His amazing word, which does not pass away! (see Matthew 5.18)

  2. Tommy said,

    January 30, 2009 at 9:05 am

    Sorry…that should have been Matthew 5.18 at the end of that instead of the cool smiley…although I like the smiley too.

  3. jumpingjackagain said,

    January 30, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    hi there,
    i am new to your blog. i tried to comment on the previous post, but my firewall blocked me…so, i will leave 2 comments:
    1st- i was just heartbroken after i read about your childhood abuse. i don’t know how you had the strength to go on. did you ever tell anyone? or did your parents just not care? i didn’t know mormons allowed such stuff to go on…the only ones i know are so strait-laced.
    2nd- in this post you say that God speaks to us through the scriptures…do you mean to say that is the ONLY way He speaks to us? (i am asking because i have a little voice in my head that tells me things…and it has since childhood. more like warnings, and it is always right, and i totally trust that voice) So, i have always thought it was God.
    anyway, thanks for the time you spend writing this blog. i will be back!

  4. royaltonmd said,

    January 31, 2009 at 11:07 am

    LDS woman,

    I don’t know why you ever thought only members of the “LDS Church believed in continuing and personal revelation.” I have never heard such a thing taught in over 40 years in the church. In fact, in my opinion, no other church more emphatically encourages individuals to seek and receive personal revelation. Remember the missionary discussions? That is the emphasis throughout the whole process through which a convert goes as they join the church. We plead with non-LDS people to seek personal revelation. Why would we make such a plea if we believed they could not receive such inspiration?

    In blogging on sites such as this, I find LDS critics mocking the idea of personal revelation as the primary means of learning truth. In fact, when discussing the LDS doctrine, they encourage a purely intellectual approach and claim any inspiration received by LDS is of the devil. So their message in evaluating our claims is to rely on the intellect and not to follow the spirit.

    I am glad you believe in personal revelation. Without it, a person is left to discern through the flesh who has the better argument- not dissimilar to attorneys bickering over legal nuances.

    Thanks,

    royalton

  5. jumpingjackagain said,

    February 2, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    hi again,

    i was hoping to see my post and hear your answers. my mom used to tell me that the devil talked to me and it scared me, but the voice was always right so i figured it couldn’t be the devil. you seem to know so much about the scriptures so i was hoping you could give my your opinion.
    thanks, ldsw….hope to hear from you soon,
    love,
    megan

  6. latterdaysaintwoman said,

    February 3, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    To JumpingJack: The Holy Ghost does speak to us personally. He actually lives in a believer’s heart! Test the little voice in your head with scripture. If the voice in your head agrees with it, then it is likely from the Holy Ghost. The Holy Ghost inspired all scripture, so He isn’t going to disagree with Himself.

    I just wrote a post about this topic titled “Are Your Feelings from the Holy Ghost or a Seducing Spirit?” Hope it helps clarify your questions.

  7. latterdaysaintwoman said,

    February 3, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    Dear JumpingJack: Sorry I am so slow. I don’t have the best health and some days are harder than others.

    Sometimes our own evil thoughts can lead us astray. And, Satan certainly tries to entice us away from God. Compare any thought or emotion with God’s Word.

    I love to do topical Bible studies using a concordance or a Topical Bible. This way I find out what God wants to teach me on that subject.

  8. latterdaysaintwoman said,

    February 4, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    Royalton: You wrote: “I don’t know why you ever thought only members of the “LDS Church believed in continuing and personal revelation.” I have never heard such a thing taught in over 40 years in the church.”

    Here are words of LDS leaders:

    Gospel Principles:
    Page 47: Many people live in darkness, unsure of God’s will. They believe that the heavens are closed and that people must face the world’s perils alone. How fortunate are the Latter-day Saints! We know that God communicates to the Church through his prophet. With grateful hearts, Saints the world over sing the hymn, “We thank thee, O God, for a prophet to guide us in these latter days.”
    Page 109: After the Savior ascended into heaven, men changed the ordinances and doctrines that he and his Apostles had established. Because of apostasy, there was no direct revelation from God. The true Church was no longer on the earth.
    Page 110: For many years people lived in spiritual darkness. About 1700 years after Christ, people were becoming more and more interested in knowing the truth about God and religion. Some of them could see that the gospel Jesus taught was no longer on the earth. Some recognized that there was no revelation and no true authority and that the church that Christ organized did not exist on the earth. The time had arrived for the Church of Jesus Christ to be restored to the earth.

    Preparing for Exaltation:
    Pages 80-81: What is revelation? (God’s way of communicating with his children on earth.) Help class members find “Revelation” in the Bible Dictionary (page 762). Ask a class member to read the following excerpt from that section, and suggest that class members mark the excerpt in their own scriptures. “Divine revelation is one of the grandest concepts and principles of the gospel of Jesus Christ, for without it, man could not know of the things of God and could not be saved with any degree of salvation in the eternities. Continuous revelation from God to his saints, through the Holy Ghost … makes possible daily guidance along true paths and leads the faithful soul to complete and eternal salvation in the celestial kingdom.” Some churches believe that revelation has stopped, that God no longer communicates with his children on earth. Why is it important to know that revelation continues today?”

    Teachings of Presidents of the Church, John Taylor:
    Pages 79-80: What condition was the world in before the gospel we now preach was introduced? … Where could we find anything resembling that which was taught by Jesus? Nowhere on the face of the wide earth. Apostles, prophets, pastors, teachers etc., were nowhere to be found. Do I know this? I do know it, for I lived in the world at that time! I knew what was going on. I was mixed up with their teachers and was well acquainted with the different societies and organizations. Did they have the gospel as laid down in the scriptures? No.
    Pages 158-159: The Bible is good. … The Book of Mormon is good, and the Doctrine and Covenants, as land-marks. But a mariner who launches into the ocean requires a more certain criterion. He must be acquainted with heavenly bodies, and take his observations from them, in order to steer his barque [or ship] aright. Those books are good for example, precedent, and investigation, and for developing certain laws and principles. But they do not, they cannot, touch every case required to be adjudicated and set in order.
    A good many people, and those professing Christians, will sneer a good deal at the idea of present revelation. Whoever heard of true religion without communication with God? To me the thing is the most absurd that the human mind could conceive. I do not wonder, when the people generally reject the principle of present revelation, that skepticism and infidelity prevail to such an alarming extent. I do not wonder that so many men treat religion with contempt, and regard it as something not worth the attention of intelligent beings, for without revelation religion is a mockery and a farce. If I can not have a religion that will lead me to God, and place me en rapport with him, and unfold to my mind the principles of immortality and eternal life, I want nothing to do with it.

    Gospel Doctrine Teachers Manual, Doctrine and Covenants,
    Page 213: Share the following story, told by President Hugh B. Brown of the First Presidency: Before President Brown was called as a General Authority, he spent some time in England working as a barrister, or attorney. He befriended a prominent Englishman who was a member of the House of Commons and a former justice of the supreme court of Britain. The two men often discussed various subjects, including religion. In 1939, when it appeared that World War II would soon break out, the English gentleman called Brother Brown into his office. He asked Brother Brown to defend his religious beliefs in the same way he would discuss a legal problem. In a general conference address,President Brown recalled part of their conversation: “I began by asking, ‘May I proceed, sir, on the assumption that you are a Christian?’ “ ‘I am.’ “ ‘I assume that you believe in the Bible—the Old and New Testaments?’ “ ‘I do!’ ” The English gentleman said that he believed the biblical accounts of the Lord speaking to prophets. However, he maintained that such communication had stopped soon after the Resurrection of Christ. The conversation continued with another question from Brother Brown: “Why do you think it stopped?” “ ‘I can’t say.’ “ ‘You think that God hasn’t spoken since then?’ “ ‘Not to my knowledge.’


Leave a Reply

