Why is the Cross the Symbol of Christianity?

I love the symbol of the Cross!! But this isn’t how I have always felt. When I was Mormon I was often asked why we didn’t wear crosses or have crosses on our buildings. I always responded with what I had been taught: “We don’t focus on Christ’s death but on His life and the fact that he is still living.” In reality I was repulsed by crosses on churches or whenever I saw someone wearing a cross as jewelry. Now that I understand the true meaning of Christ’s Cross I am continually drawn back to its message—like a moth to a flame!

But what is the meaning of the Cross? Its message is seen as “foolishness” to many Latter-day Saints. Indeed, it is what divides Mormonism from Christianity! Today I share with you why the Cross is the symbol of my faith and pray that you will also make it yours.

My most treasured possession was won at the Cross—the forgiveness of all my sins! My entire debt of sin was canceled and taken away from me, in fact—my IOU’s were actually nailed to Christ’s Cross! (Colossians 2:13-15) When I first heard and understood this message of forgiveness, I gave my life to Jesus. As a Mormon I had been taught that even though Christ paid the debt for my sins, the debt hadn’t been canceled but merely re-financed. In fact, I still owed my debt to Jesus. For years I had tried to wash my own sins away by meeting the LDS requirements of repentance—and had failed miserably. Today, I cherish the meaning of the Cross because it boldly testifies that “where remission of these is, there is no more offering for sin” (Hebrews 10:17-18).

Not only were my sins forgiven at the Cross, it was there that I was “perfected forever” through the offering of Christ’s body (Hebrews 10:10-14). This is amazing because I certainly didn’t deserve to be credited with righteousness. But through His death on the Cross, Christ reconciled me to God, presenting me “holy and unblameable and unreproveable in his sight” (Colossians 1:21-22).

How can these things possibly be true? Only through what my Savior accomplished! Even though Jesus was equal to God, He became a servant; He “humbled himself and became obedient” by dying on the Cross (Philippians 2:5-11). “For the joy that was set before him, he endured the cross, despising the shame.” (Hebrews 12:2) Notice here that He despised the shame. Have you ever felt shame? Shame is a horrible feeling that I know all too well! I have felt much shame over the years for the sins that I committed. But I deserved my shame. The Holy Son of God never once sinned and yet He took upon Himself every sin ever committed. I can’t even begin to imagine the magnitude of shame that our Holy Savior felt when He did this at the Cross!

Taking upon Himself every sin meant that it was like Jesus Himself had actually committed these sins! This was His role as our Substitute, and it had to be done at the cross to save us. Forgiveness can only be granted through the shedding of one’s life-blood. And the Cross was the altar where Christ shed His. This is why Christians use the symbol of Christ’s death–the Cross, as the symbol of their faith.

Without the Cross, I was cursed to spend eternity in Hell with Satan. The Apostle Paul told the Galatians: “Cursed is every one that continueth not in all things which are written in the book of the law to do them.” Because I could not do what was required, Christ came to do it for me. His very purpose for coming to earth was to be my substitute; and yours!! You were cursed because of your sins but Christ took your curse upon Himself. He actually became a curse!! Both for you and for me! As the final sacrifice “Christ hath redeemed us from the curse of the law, being made a curse for us: for it is written, Cursed is every one that hangeth on a tree”. Notice that His substitution happened at the cross! It was at the Cross that every sin ever committed was paid for and forgiven! Now, “where remission of these is, there is no more offering for sin”!!!!

The LDS church shuns the Cross, because it claims to focus on Christ’s life instead. In reality, Mormon prophets reject the message of the Cross because it’s foolishness to them!!! “For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding of the prudent. Where is the wise? where is the scribe? where is the disputer of this world? hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe.”

As I mentioned, I am continually drawn back to the message of the cross—like a moth to a flame. Whenever I feel guilt over the sin that so easily entangles me—I run to the Cross! It is at the Cross that I can leave my guilt and be reminded that my sin has already been forgiven. Then immediately, I turn in gratitude and thankfulness to my Savior who died on that Cross—for me!!!

The cross is the center of our lives

The cross is the center of our lives

When I got married a few years ago my last name became “Detro”. One day I realized that the “T” in the center of Detro could be made into the symbol of the Cross. My husband and I love the symbolism that this created. Christ’s Cross is the symbol of our faith—the very center of our lives and our marriage! My husband surprised me one year with this beautiful anniversary gift that sits by our front door.

Click here for additional LDS and Bible references:

32 Comments

  1. catzgalore said,

    August 11, 2009 at 6:39 am

    what a beautiful post!

    I too focus on Jesus ALIVE– because of the Cross.
    I love your rock– such a beautiful symbol, and reminder, and testimony.

  2. rblandjr said,

    August 11, 2009 at 8:24 am

    LDSW,

    Thank you for that great article that reminds us of what Christ did for wretched sinners like us.

    Reminds me of one of my favorite Hymns,

    When I Survey the Wondrous Cross

    “When I survey the wondrous cross On which the Prince of glory died, my richest gain I count but loss, And pour contempt on all my pride.

    Forbid it Lord, that I should boast, Save in the death of Christ, my God; All the vain things that charm me most I sacrifice them to His blood.

    See from His head, His hands, His feet, Sorrow and love flow mingled down; Did e’er such love and sorrow meet, Or thorns compose so rich crown?

    Were the whole realm of nature mine, That were a present far too small: Love so amazing so divine, Demands my soul, my life, my all.

    Gal. 6:14 ” But God forbid that I should glory, save in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by whom the world is crucified unto me, and I unto the world”
    Hallelujah for the Cross!

  3. geoff456 said,

    August 11, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    LDSW,

    LDS people do not use the cross on our buildings. that does NOT translate into: “foolishness” and “shunning”.
    That is imflammatory and false. Are you just trying to stir up a little controversy? I prefer to talk about and debate REAL issues.

    ~Geoff

  4. not2brightmom said,

    August 11, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    Thanks for all the time and effort you put into writing these posts. They are beautiful and so God-honoring!

  5. catzgalore said,

    August 11, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    Geoff, why is the cross not used on your buildings since your church considers itself “Christian”?

  6. geoff456 said,

    August 12, 2009 at 9:16 am

    Catz,

    I don’t speak for the Church….so I don’t really have THE answer for you.

    Our churches have beautiful spires that point heaven ward. They are well-maintained and lovely.

    Where in the Bible does it say that you have to have a cross on the Church to qualify as a Christian church? I must have missed it. 🙂
    I thought that Christians were those who were baptised in His church and follow ALL His commandments…not just the ones they like!

    ~tongue in cheek Geoff

  7. geoff456 said,

    August 13, 2009 at 8:07 am

    KO, Catz, Richard and LDSW,

    Here is a question for you: How do you “witness” to your LDS family members? Or do you just try to be a “good example” (my technique)?

    ~geoff

  8. catzgalore said,

    August 13, 2009 at 11:48 am

    Honesty. We don’t speak doctrinal issues too often, but we pray together, and love each other. We have gotten into a few discussions, but she doesn’t know much about mormon doctrine, she grew up in the church. Once, when asked the question “why don’t you accept LDS? It is just a religion like anyone else’s.” I said, “it isn’t. There are lots of things that are different than what the Bible teaches, and I prefer to follow the Lord and not any man’s religion.” She said “oh.” and that was the end of the discussion. We did talk about baby blessings and women’s “place” in the church and family.

    Maybe someday we will talk more than we do. I just love them like I love all my other chidren, daughters-in-law, and grandchildren.

  9. osbornekristen said,

    August 14, 2009 at 7:47 am

    Geoff,
    Personally,
    I have had only one encounter with my m-in-law where my husband and I actually sat down with her and tried to discuss our beliefs. This was done simply because of some things that had been said negatively about us and our own beliefs. We felt we needed to straighten some things out and express our hurt feelings and listen to hers as well. It wasn’t pretty and feelings were hurt on both sides. She denied a lot of Mormon beliefs…..all of which we have discussed on this blog. She finally said that she while she did not believe some LDS beliefs personally, (such as apostates going to Outer Darkness) she still believed “many” of them and felt that the LDS church was the “right” place for her. She asked us to NEVER bring up religion again with her.

    ******We did NOT get in a debate with her just to prove her wrong, gang up on her or bash her beliefs. We were HURT by some personal things that had been said about us having a difficult time trying to have children that directly tied into Mormon beliefs about spirit children, patriachal blessings etc.

    So, how do we witness to her now? We try to talk about our faith at every opportunity. We talk about things the Lord is doing in our lives and share things about our church, our youth group and Christian activities that we are involved in. Our children are our best lights for Jesus because they sing songs about grace and recite Bible verses ( such as Eph. 2:8). But, our main tool is prayer. We know that it is the Holy Spirit that leads people to Christ. We fervently pray that the Lord will show her TRUTH and place people in her life that will be able to share the Gospel message of grace with her. We have COMPLETE trust that God is working in her heart even as we speak. We pray for you and Shem too. We pray that you too will come to understand that Salvation is a COMPLETELY finished work done for us by Jesus and NOTHING can change it or improve it. Our acceptance of His free gift allows us to live with Him eternally…….not in some lesser realm or spirit holding place. We know that when we are absent from the body we will be present with the Lord and their will be no condemnation for those in Christ Jesus! There will be joy, joy, joy!!!

  10. geoff456 said,

    August 14, 2009 at 11:46 am

    Catz and Ko,

    thanks for sharing. I was curious to know how your family handled it. we are about the same….pray, try to be examples and hope the Lord gets through!

    ~Geoff

  11. not2bright said,

    August 14, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    Just being honest here, not trying to be sarcastic, but Geoff, I’d never heard that those were spires pointing heavenward. As a non-LDS person, I always thought they looked like something pricking or piercing the sky. Not beautiful at all.

    Being baptized and following (all?) His commands doesn’t make you a Christian either. First of all, no one CAN follow all His commands. But, even if you follow only half of them, or a third, that is not the requirement to be a Christian. You must be born again, meaning God must regenerate your heart, and you are adopted into His family, having been completely justified by the COMPLETED work of Christ shedding His blood.

    Otherwise, why would God record that one day He will say, “Depart from Me, I never knew you!” to those who claimed to have His name? (Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works?) Works is not the ticket.

  12. shematwater said,

    August 15, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    To all those who wonder why we do not use the cross:

    For the general Christian community the cross is the symbol of the Atonement and the great suffering that Christ indured. This was the climax and the greatest pain was suffered in the few hours that he hung there.

    Now, this is understandable, but to the LDS this is not accurate. We do not believe this is where he suffered the most. It was in the Garden of Gethsemane that the greatest part of the atonement was fullfilled, and where he suffered in such agony, both Body and Spirit, asking that he may not “drink the bitter cup.” It was so excrusiating that the Father sent an angel to strengthen him in his pain and still “his sweat was as it were great drops of blood falling down to the ground.” (Luke 22: 43-44) We believe that it was here that the sins of the world were atoned for, and thus the cross is not an appropriate symbol.
    As to the many references to the Cross in the epistles of Paul, we must remember that he was writting to people who had lived their entire lives with physical symbols and idols to refer to. Thus, to make the atonement more easily understood for these very materialistic and ritualistic people, he referenced the cross, for it was a common practice and one that could readily be imagined by the people, while the event in the garden is far from our mortal copassity to understand (for it was not just the pain os sin that he felt, but every pain, both physical and spiritual, he endured so that he could truly give comfort to all men in all trials).
    Now, a secondary reason it is not used is that physical symbols are too often made into idols for worship. Even the brazen serpant made by Moses, which was a symbol of the crusifiction, was later destroyed by Hezekiah for this reason (2 Kings 18: 4). Thus we ahve no symbol that represent our faith, though there are many things made to symbolize verious aspects.
    Geoff is correct that the spires on the Temples are reaching to heaven. It is also true that on the Salt Lake Temple the eastern spires represent the Melchizedek Priesthood, and the western ones the Aaronic Priesthood. The angel Moroni is set as the angel who brought the everlasting gospel to preach unto them that dwell on the earth.” (Rev. 14: 6) But still, none of these symbols are used in worship, nor do they symbolize the gospel or the atonement.

    NOT2BRIGHT

    I ahve to say that I disagree with you, in that I believe it is possible to follow all of God’s commands. I do not wish to argue this point, only to point out that if we believe it is possible than there is nothing wrong with believing it is required.

  13. geoff456 said,

    August 15, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    not2bright……

    (i have never understood the reason you named yourself that….it is not “so bright”)

    we are admittedly light years apart. i believe in the restoration of the Gospel of Jesus Christ, you don’t. you say I am wrong, i say you are wrong.

    our buildings are beautiful by any non-biased standard. i feel sorry for your LDS family member if you cannot even be kind enough to admit something that simple and true. you must be a peach to live with.

    ~geoff

  14. latterdaysaintwoman said,

    August 15, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    Shem,

    You wrote:

    “It was in the Garden of Gethsemane that the greatest part of the atonement was fullfilled, and where he suffered in such agony, both Body and Spirit, asking that he may not “drink the bitter cup.” It was so excrusiating that the Father sent an angel to strengthen him in his pain and still “his sweat was as it were great drops of blood falling down to the ground.” (Luke 22: 43-44) We believe that it was here that the sins of the world were atoned for, and thus the cross is not an appropriate symbol.”

    Could you please give me even one Bible reference, Old or New Testament, that claims Atonement for sins can be paid for without the life-blood of the sacrifice?

  15. latterdaysaintwoman said,

    August 15, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    Geoff,

    You wrote:

    “LDS people do not use the cross on our buildings. that does NOT translate into: “foolishness” and “shunning”. That is imflammatory and false. Are you just trying to stir up a little controversy? I prefer to talk about and debate REAL issues.”

    It certainly was not my intent to be inflammatory, nor false. The purpose of my Post was to open your eyes to what Christ has done for you—at the Cross!!! This message is the real issue and your eternal life depends upon how you view the Cross!

    I know I am not the best writer, so maybe it would help for you to see a summary of the points I made:

    1) Mankind’s entire debt of sin was canceled and taken away—your IOU’s were actually nailed to Christ’s Cross! (Colossians 2:13-15)

    2) All sins were forgiven at the Cross through the offering of Christ’s body. “Where remission of these is, there is no more offering for sin” (Hebrews 10:17-18).

    3) Through the offering of Christ’s body you have been “perfected forever” (Hebrews 10:10-14). It was there that Christ presented you “holy and unblameable and unreproveable in his sight” (Colossians 1:21-22).

    4) The Bible claims that if you don’t continue to do everything that God commands, you are cursed. Christ’s very purpose for coming to earth was to be your substitute at the cross and be cursed in your place. (Galatians 3:10-13)

    Maybe this makes it clearer for you. Please read that all these doctrines are from the Bible. These teachings are all because of what happened at the cross. The Mormon Church does not agree with, nor teach these doctrines. If you believe these truths then I praise the Lord!

    If you think that your Church does believe these things and I have misstated LDS doctrines, then give me the courtesy that I always provide my readers. Show me quotes from an LDS Prophet or Apostle which prove that your Church embraces this doctrine. If you can provide a quote, that quote must not disprove what you say it means somewhere else within the body of text (LDS talk or lesson) that it is quoted from. I would also like a link to where it is located on lds.org.

  16. latterdaysaintwoman said,

    August 15, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    Shem,

    You wrote: “Thus we have no symbol that represent our faith”

    If you click on the link I provide for additional LDS Quotes, you can see that president Hinckley said this is the symbol that represents an LDS person’s faith:

    “I replied that the lives of our people must become the most meaningful expression of our faith and, in fact, therefore, the symbol of our worship….”

  17. osbornekristen said,

    August 15, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    I will NEVER understand why LDS think, as Shem said, “It was in the Garden of Gethsemane that the greatest part of the atonement was fullfilled, and where he suffered in such agony, both Body and Spirit, asking that he may not “drink the bitter cup.

    Do you realize that at ANY moment while he hung on the cross, Jesus could have called a host of 10 thousand angels to His side? He could have ended the agony at ANY moment!! He IS GOD! He endured the cross because He knew that it was the Only way!! Sure that night in the garden was horrific as he prayed and awaited what He knew was going to happen the next day! He was full of EVERY human emotion possible……..as He was FULLY human and FULLY GOD!

    He ALREADY knew that there was no other way, but in His fully humanness, he still asked the Father for another way. His prayer of agony in the garden just illustrates how human Christ really was…….the fear of death…pain….suffering….etc.

    The CROSS is where DEATH no longer has a sting……..it is where Satan was defeated…….it is where the PERFECT SACRIFICE was made.

    The CROSS is EVERYTHING!!!!!!!!!!! I don’t say this to be mean, but really…….SATAN must LOVE that LDS don’t see the CROSS as a representation of faith.

  18. geoff456 said,

    August 15, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    LDSW,

    I have NO quarrel with you about your beliefs. I SAID that saying the LDS think it is “foolish” is inflammatory. Can YOU give me a reference where one of our leaders said that?

  19. latterdaysaintwoman said,

    August 16, 2009 at 1:38 am

    Geoff,

    You wrote:

    “I have NO quarrel with you about your beliefs. I SAID that saying the LDS think it is “foolish” is inflammatory. Can YOU give me a reference where one of our leaders said that?”

    You have no quarrel with me about my beliefs. The entire Post stated my beliefs about the Christian “message” of the Cross. This message is seen as foolish to LDS Prophets. The message of the Cross is that the gifts of forgiveness and eternal life are completely free and unearned. No one can qualify for these blessings and we get them for nothing.

    I have never heard a current LDS prophet/apostle have the courage to come out and say “the message of the cross is foolishness to Mormons”. However, they do claim that the message of the cross, the message that I taught in my post, is worse than foolish. A quote from yesterday’s Young Single Adult Gem comes to mind. Here it is:

    “The worldly aspiration of our day is to get something for nothing. The ancient evil of greed shows its face in the assertion of entitlement: I am entitled to this or that because of who I am—a son or a daughter, a citizen, a victim, or a member of some other group. Entitlement is generally selfish. It demands much, and it gives little or nothing. Its very concept causes us to seek to elevate ourselves above those around us. This separates us from the divine, evenhanded standard of reward that when anyone obtains any blessing from God, it is by obedience to the law on which that blessing is predicated (see D&C 130:21).” Dallin H. Oaks, “Unselfish Service,” Ensign, May 2009, 95

    The message of the Cross is that we are entitled to the full forgiveness of our sins. Not because we are obedient, but because Jesus was obedient for us, and paid the price for our sins with His shed blood!!!! Not because of who we are, but because Christ chose to lower Himself and become a servant. Not because we are victims, but because Christ became a victim for us.

    Justice is paid so mercy can reign! The message of the Cross is that we can do nothing to gain the blessing of complete and full forgiveness of all of our sins. The message of the Cross is that we can do nothing to gain eternal life. The message of the Cross is that Jesus gave His life so we could be given these gifts. The message of the Cross is that Jesus deserves all glory, honor and praise because He has done everything for us. This message, the message of the Cross, is foolishness to LDS prophets.

  20. geoff456 said,

    August 17, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    LDSW,

    you obviously have been out of touch with the LDS church too long. President Monson and President Hinckley before him (to name 2) do not call “names”. No LDS blogger says this, either. We simply disagree. We have the restored truth that you have lost, or thrown away. We believe differently, but NO ONE calls YOUR beliefs “foolish”. I maintain that you are trying to stir something up here.

    Geoff

    You never commented on how YOU “witness” to your LDS family….care to now?

  21. latterdaysaintwoman said,

    August 17, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    Geoff,

    I will continue to pray for you.

  22. geoff456 said,

    August 17, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    LDSW,

    thanks, i need all the prayers i can get.

    ~Geoff

  23. shematwater said,

    August 21, 2009 at 10:22 am

    LDSW

    First, there is no reference in the Bible that says sin can be atoned for without the sacrifce of teh Life-Blood. However, it also never says that the blood must be spint by men. Did you not read that in the Garden of Gethsemane Christ’s sweat was “as it were great drops of blood.” He bleed from every poor. I think this shedding of blood would qualify as the Life-Blood being sacrificed.

    As to it not being a sign, I have read the quote you give, and find it in complete harmony with what I said. President Hinckley said “No sign, no work of art, no representation of form is adequate to express the glory and the wonder of the Living Christ.” This is all I said. Yes our lives are to become the symbol of our faith in Christ, but this is not a physical representation of anything and we do not use our lives as a means of worship in our services (as some Christians use the cross). There is nothing to symbolize our faith in the way of physical representations.

    As to thinking your message foolishness, I have to say that in a sense I think it is, as I do not think it will gain the true salvation and eternal life in the Celestial Kingdom. However, I also no not think it is the true message of the cross as you put, and so I do not think that the cross or its message is foolishness.

    As to the four points you make in your post to Geoff, I do not agree with them, nor do I see it in the verses you reference. The epistle of Colossians speaks more to outward ordinances, or the Law of Moses, than to personal works. In chapter one verse 23 we are told that we are presented blameless on ly if we remain faithful (indicating works). In Hebrews 10: 14 he tells us those who are sactified are made perfect. Having read in Colossians that only the faithful are presented blameless (or are santified) than only the faithful will be perfected, and only the faithful will have there sins fogiven and forgotten by God. The Galations reference in the only one that I agree with.
    Thus, the message you outline is not the message I see in the Bible, and thus it is foolishness to me.

    OSBORNE

    I have a few reasons for believing that the Garden is where the greater part of his suffering took place.
    First is the story as told in Luke. As I said the pain was so great that an Angel was sent to help bare it, and still he bleed at every poor. This is truly agonizing pain.
    Second is the fact that crusifixtion was not uncommon and thus this was not unique. The Pain he suffered here was no worse than the pain others had suffered in like circumstances.
    Third is the very symbolic nature of the Garden of Gethsemane. It was an olive Garden. The olives were harvested and put into a device that would press them and cause them to shead their oil. Thus, in this garden Christ was pressed down by the sins of worlds causing him to shead his blood.
    These are the reasons from history and the Bible that convince me that the greatest suffering was endured in the Garden and thus this was the greatest part of the Atonement, or that part to atone for sin.
    Of course, I also believe in Modern revelation, and Christ himself states in D&C 19: 18 “Which asuffering caused myself, even God, the greatest of all, to tremble because of pain, and to bleed at every pore, and to suffer both body and spirit—and would that I might bnot drink the bitter cup, and shrink.” So we have the witness of Christ himself that it was in the Garden, where he sweat blood, that the greatest suffering and atonement for sins was accomplished.

    Now, it was on the Cross that he died, and he it was on the cross, as well as in the time between the Garden and the Cross that he endured the last parts of this pain, but it was begun in the Garden and there is where he suffered the most.

    (And it was in the resurrection that death was conquered. It was not in dieing, as that would be death conquering, not being conquered.)

  24. hainesak said,

    September 18, 2009 at 2:43 am

    if the cross, as a symbol, helps you to realize and memorialize the sacrifice of our savior, then that is a wonderful thing. i think this is what you are getting to on your post. it has meaning to you because you see that is where the Lord gave up his life and that sacrifice embodies the atonement for you
    .
    the argument against the cross as a symbol has a strong base in that Christ was not alone in death; thousands were crucified on crosses of various types by the romans and others and even His disciples were not immune to it. indeed, the majority of people crucified were not innocents. Christ’s death in itself is not unique; everyone dies. what is noteworthy is that He laid His life down by choice. He could have called legions of angels to save Him, and He didn’t because He knew that in order to fulfill His responsibilities and commitments that He had to die like everyone else in order to overcome death. it’s difficult to overcome something without exposure to it.

    for many others, the most important aspect of Christ’s mission on earth was what took place in gethsemane. whereas it took no special effort to die on the cross, and everyone is capable of dying, Christ alone was capable of doing what happened in the garden. no one else could physically or spiritually accomplish the suffering that he experienced in the garden. death would have been a welcome respite from the suffering there.

    i know many latter-day saints who embrace the cross as a way to remind them of the Lord’s sacrifice; not just of His life but of what He did when He prayed, bled, and suffered in gethsemane. i know many latter-day saints who wear the cross just as you do as a reminder of his sacrifice. when we demean each other and chastise one another for the ways in which we honor and choose to remember the atonement, we are slandering Christ, His teachings, and are showing ourselves as fraudulent examples of Christians regardless of secular preference. how ironic is it that we choose to argue and have waged wars over our preferred methods of honoring the Prince of Peace?

  25. catzgalore said,

    September 20, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    What I have seen over and over is that LDS folks try to point out just how similar their faith is to other Christians. I was even told that LDS and Christian were about 75% similar. The temptation is to just go with the flow and say yes, we are 75% the same so we’re on the same page. I’m sure that you could find 75% agreement with just about anyone. Even most atheist folks are wonderful people and believe in things like the Golden Rule and can find a lot of agreement with a lot of what Jesus taught! Maybe even 75%! Does it make them Christian?

    It isn’t the “method” of honoring the Prince of Peace that is being talked about here, it is the very heart of the issue… It is believing that God provided the SACRIFICE through Jesus. It isn’t just that he suffered in our place, it is that he DIED in our place. The LDS definition of Christ’s atonement is different. The definition of GOD is different. The cross to an LDS is representing something different than it represents to a Christian!

    The LDS Jesus is not the same as the Biblical Jesus. What the LDS Jesus did for mankind is NOT what the Biblical Jesus did!

    Even though you say the Mormons have not rejected the cross, they have. They do not believe it was Jesus’ death that paid the TOTAL DEBT for our sins. It only makes it POSSIBLE to work our way to heaven! What the cross represents is that Jesus paid the TOTAL DEBT by his DEATH.

  26. shematwater said,

    September 21, 2009 at 11:51 am

    CATZ

    Why so violent in your words?

    The only purpose I had on this particular thread is to explain why the LDS church has no physican symbol of their faith. I had no desire to get into a debate on the differences between faiths, just explain mine.

    When I mentioned the similarities between faiths I never intended to deceive anyone or try and get you to belive the LDS church. My intent on pointing these similarities out is that we should all get along in peaceful existance, which cannot happen when you focus on the differences to the exclusion of the similarities. You have a ver y violent attitude toward the LDS, one of anger and malice. It is not good for you, or anyone who listens to you. My intent on focussing on similarities, and pointing them out is to cool the blood and allowing civilized discussion, and an opportunity to actually learn about each other. You have demonstrated over and over again that you have no reall desire to understand the LDS, only to destroy them.

    HAINESAK

    I agree with you. My intent was not to ridicule anyone on their personal beliefs, but to explain why I do not share them.

    I agree with Joseph Smith when he said he would support all men in their worship of God, and in their own way if he could not convince them his was better. In other words, I am perfectly willing to help any church with their services, and will gladly assist in repairing buildings and would even build a cross if they needed me too. That does not mean I have to use the cross in my worship.

    I really wish that some Christians would be more like Joseph Smith (not necessarily believing the same doctrine but having the same philosophy of life).

  27. catzgalore said,

    September 26, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    My words are not violent, angry, or full of malice. I only speak the truth.

    Did Joseph Smith say he would support all men? He called all denominations apostate! He said he was told to not go to any of them! Is that tolerance? You yourself have said that no one wil be with God the Father except those that follow Joseph Smith!

    I am not angry with Mormons. My heart aches for those that have been deceived.

    Would you really help another church? I challenge you, go find a church in need, help them. Just about any church you might go to will have something that needs doing. Let us know what happens.

  28. shematwater said,

    September 29, 2009 at 11:41 am

    CATZ

    Yes Joseph Smith said this, and you can find in the current Priesthood / Relief Society manual on his teachings. Yes, he did act in this way to all, allowing all men their right to worship. He never interrupted another while preaching, and never preached in a place he was not welcome. He had this respect for others.

    As for me helping other churchs, the opportunity is not a prevelant as you think. Partly because I am busy with my family, with school, and with my church. However, in times of disaster I am perfectly willing to assist in what they need.
    You misunderstood my words. It was never my intention to imply that I seek out other churches that need such help, but that I would not refuse such help if I was asked.

  29. November 9, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    Actually, early Colonial Protestant’s did not use the Cross as a symbol. Why? Because to them, the Cross represented Roman Catholicism. In this context, they refused to wear, adorn, or even use such a symbol because they believed it to be idolatory to worship this.

    “Doane was among the few American Protestants of the 1830s and 1840s who risked making “a Catholic appearance” by employing the cross as a church symbol. For the symbol’s associations with Roman Catholicism ran deep–Doane’s cross had provoked an anti-Catholic fury despite the Greek associations of the piece’s design and despite the variety of classical features surrounding it on St. Mary’s Church. Like the crucifix, with its bodily representation of Christ’s suffering, the cross had served as a sacred Catholic instrument for centuries. One Boston Episcopalian explained in 1847 that “when a stranger enters a city, and passes a church with a cross upon it, his impression is that it is Roman Catholic; and when one visits the cemetery … and sees a stone embellished with the same symbol, he takes it for granted that a Roman Catholic sleeps underneath.” Indeed, canon law prescribed specific architectural locations for Catholic crosses and crucifixes, thereby bolstering their prominence.” (see http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_hb050/is_4_70/ai_n28885951/).

    Thus, the aversion to the Cross was predominately a Protestant aversion up to and during the rise of Mormonism.

    Until Christian believers look to history and understand historical context, will they only then realize that such argumentations they present against the Mormon faith and religion are nothing more than logical fallacies.

  30. November 9, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    You:

    Mormonism shuns the Cross because it claims to focus on Christ’s life instead. In reality, Mormon prophets reject the message of the Cross because it is foolishness to them!!! “For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding of the prudent. Where is the wise? where is the scribe? where is the disputer of this world? hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe.”

    Me:

    False argumentation here. It is actually more so taught and believed that by and through the Power of Jesus Christ’s atoning sacrifice that we are saved from not only Sin, but Death. Without Christ’s atonement, we would have had no way to return back to our Heavenly Father.

    Christians are stuck at the cross when Christ is no longer nailed there. He rose the third day, ascended into heaven with a body of Flesh and Bone, and when he returns, we will see him in his resurrected body of flesh and Bone. Our salvation is not just based on him dying on the cross, but our salvation is based upon him dying and rising.

    Once this is understood in its totality, then will one understand why Paul, the Apostle, referred to the baptism as that of us being baptized into Christ’s death, burial, and resurrection. Simply, we die with Christ, we are buried with Christ, and we rise in newness of life just as Christ rose from the dead. It is symbolic to the atonement of Jesus Christ that did not begin and end on the Cross.

    Yes, I agree that the Cross is foolishness unto those who are perishing, it is also foolishness unto those who do not fully understand the total doctrine of the Atonement.

  31. September 22, 2012 at 2:42 am

    Definitely! Cross means salvation because Jesus Christ died on it for our redemption.Mrs.Detro, God uses you as an instrument to others for some ideas and clarifications regarding on it from their being skeptical about Cross as the symbol of Christianity. Consequently, I myself ignited from your words.

  32. latterdaysaintwoman said,

    September 22, 2012 at 10:18 am

    Thank you Cecilia! I love the message of the Cross because that is where all of my sins were washed away with Christ’s blood. He alone is worthy!


Leave a Reply

