Are You Tired?

My grandson Bryson recently started first grade. I’ve been a little worried about how well he would adjust; going from a half-day kindergarten to a full-day schedule. His Mom works late nights and so he isn’t used to getting up early in the morning. After his first day of school I called him to find out how it went. Boy did I get an ear-full. He didn’t like how long the day was nor did he like all the work he had to do. He complained for several minutes and finally I asked him “Wasn’t there anything you liked about school?” He replied “Well, there were four recesses”.

Sometimes I wish I had four recesses a day, especially at this time of year. I love gardening, but by the first of October I am usually plumb tuckered out. I have almost twenty fruit trees, grow vegetables and sell berries of all kinds. With all the picking, canning and weeding I’ve seldom had time to even cook dinner. Plus with all the health issues I’ve been having, this year has been extremely difficult. I have learned a new definition for the word courage. It takes courage to pull myself out of bed in the morning and courage to do even minimal tasks. Some days, I find it takes even more courage to just stay in bed all day. I grew up in a family with a strong work ethic and it’s difficult for me to admit that I simply can’t do everything that needs to be done. It isn’t that I don’t love everything I do, it’s just that I am physically exhausted and in pain most of the time. I would love to have someone tell me “Becki, it’s time for recess”.

Today, in a way, God did tell me it was time for recess. He speaks to me through His Word and I read in Psalm 23: “The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.” Reading these passages restored my soul and slowed me down. It also reminded me of my life before I met my Savior. For almost three decades I was absolutely miserable because I could not find any rest for my soul. Year after year was spent pleading with Heavenly Father to forgive my many sins. I believed and trusted the words of my prophet Spencer Kimball. He claimed that gaining forgiveness depended upon my works and my ability to do everything required of me. But despite years and years of working for it, I did not receive the “positive assurance that the Lord had forgiven me”. My burden became too heavy to bear and I lost hope.

After that, it was another nine miserable years before I heard the wonderful message that God had already forgiven me through my Savior. Jesus had carried my burdens and in my place, had done all the works required of me to gain eternal life. I was dumbfounded when I learned that no one can gain forgiveness through their works of obedience! And, I learned that forgiveness is only obtained as a gift from Heavenly Father, given freely to the unworthy. All those years of pain and misery were unnecessary! But I didn’t know it, because I had believed the words of a false prophet; words that contradicted God’s Word. The Apostle Peter testifies that a person receives forgiveness through belief in Jesus. He also claims that all of God’s prophets bear witness to this truth! (Acts 10:43)

I now understand what my Savior meant when He said: “Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” All sins were forgiven when our Savior shed His blood and paid for our sins. When I learned this truth, my burden truly was light. I found rest for my soul through faith that what Jesus had done for me was sufficient! Now, instead of doing works to try and qualify for forgiveness, I am free to joyfully serve my Lord, simply because I love Him.

I can’t wait to enter God’s eternal rest and be with my Savior for all eternity. My dearest friend Linda died about a month ago. She is now in the arms of our dear Savior, resting from her life of service to God. John the Beloved wrote about how blessed she is: “And I heard a voice from heaven saying unto me, Write, Blessed are the dead which die in the Lord from henceforth: Yea, saith the Spirit, that they may rest from their labours; and their works do follow them.” (Revelation 14:13)

All who trust solely in Jesus will spend eternity in the very presence of God Almighty, in constant wonder and awe. I am looking forward to it, because “God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away.” (Revelation 21:4)

9 Comments

  1. not2bright said,

    October 3, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    What a refreshing post… thanks for sharing your wisdom. I, too, have major physical issues and I struggle to rest without feeling driven and guilty.

  2. catzgalore said,

    October 3, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    Oh, I needed this, Becki… it’s been a hard week including a sick dog, sick cat, my nephew getting diagnosed with cancer, and if that wasn’t enough, a car accident. But our Gracious Father sustains me, although I have had my times of crying and sadness… my nephew is doing great, trusting in God’s Healing and not afraid if he goes Home instead. What a blessing to know Jesus. Thankful that out of four cars in the accident, ours drove away; we had no injuries in our car. Amazing. after being hit from the top by an SUV…

    Thank you Becki for this timely post. Looking forward to being with the Lord too!!!
    Catz

  3. latterdaysaintwoman said,

    October 3, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    Catz,

    You were in an accident??!! How did you get hit from the top by an SUV? Thank the Lord that you are all OK. I was also in an accident on the 22nd. I’m 50 years old and its the first auto accident I have ever been in. My car was totaled, and it was the only car that sustained any real damage. I was sitting at a light and a young woman plowed into the back of me, shoving me into and under the bumper of a truck stopped in front of me. I have some whiplash and have had a nasty headache–it hurt immediately. I went to the emergency room just to make sure nothing was really wrong. The worst has been the headaches. I went to my sinus Dr. and he thinks I probably have inflammation resulting from the trauma when my head hit back into the headrest. I have metal plates and screws in my head from a craniotomy a few years back to remove a brain tumor. So apparently, that’s what has made it worse.

    Anyway, I’m healing and I praise God I didn’t have my grand kids with me. Its not fun having to loose my old car that wasn’t worth much but that I loved. I have a new one, but I’m not too thrilled about the thought of having monthly payments. But, I praise the Lord that He has taught me to trust completely in Him for everything. I know that money is meaningless and that God will take care of us. I certainly love God with all my heart, and He has promised: “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are called according to his purpose.” (Romans 8:28)

    I will pray for your nephew. Praise the Lord that he has faith in Jesus! Either way, whether he lives or dies, he is blessed!

  4. latterdaysaintwoman said,

    October 3, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    not2bright,

    It’s not my wisdom, it’s all God’s. I can’t believe how many times I forget God’s wisdom and stress out or feel guilty because I’m not trusting in Him. The victory has already been won–Satan was defeated at the cross. Satan might prowl around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour (1Peter 5:8), but, as long as we don’t wander out of God’s hands, we are protected. And, as far as the guilt goes, we just have to remember that Jesus took away our guilt at the cross. The important thing is just remembering that every good thing we do is all simply God working and flowing through us; and, every bad thing we do has already been paid for and forgiven!

    My most precious blessing (next to forgiveness) is God’s amazing Word–the Bible. We are so blessed to have His Wisdom right at our fingertips, anytime we need it. I absolutely love doing word studies or topic studies and learning what God wants to teach me. There are many passages where God shares His wisdom with people like you and me who have health problems. I just so often forget to turn to them. But the moment I remember and let God speak to me by reading His Word, I am refreshed and renewed! Jesus certainly spoke truth when He said that those who come to Him will find rest for their souls.

  5. not2brightmom said,

    October 4, 2009 at 10:15 am

    Thank you! I needed that reminder. It’s very difficult to see others who have tons of energy and can accomplish so much in a day. But, then I lean on the verses that tells me NOT to compare myself with others, and to just “be” what He gives me strength to “be” everyday; especially Col. 3:23, “And whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord, and not to men”. It’s not about what I “do”, but being thankful for Who He is, and What HE has done. (And, by the way, the avatar shows my husband, Rick, but I am Judi. We have a website, not2bright.com that I manage and I always forget to sign out when I post!) Love in Christ Jesus, Judi

  6. not2brightmom said,

    October 4, 2009 at 10:16 am

    Well, this time I was signed out and back to my normal ^ LOL, I never know. =)

  7. catzgalore said,

    October 4, 2009 at 11:18 am

    my first accident too. And I am older than you. 😉 The SUV was coming too fast around the corner and flipped. Skipped the first two cars stopped at the intersection and landed on the back of my car and also the one kitty corner behind me and then smashed THAT car into the one behind us. I still don’t really understand what happened. All I know is there was an upside down SUV coming at me that haunts me– it keeps replaying… lots of ambulances and fire trucks and police cars… surreal!! I just KNEW we were dying! One driver ended up in the hospital, not sure what happened to the SUV driver, they pulled her out, and she ran off in the confusion. I did talk to the driver of the 4th car, he was dazed like me but ok.. My 94 year old mother in law was in the back seat, and the other vehicle landed about a foot from her… and didn’t break the back window!! Thank You, Lord!! It was a blessing to share God’s protection with the bystanders. People who watched it happen (at a gas station) were also amazed that most of us walked away.
    My nephew had surgery, they said they didn’t find anything “obviously cancerous” but won’t know until Monday or Tuesday exactly what it is. He’s got a great attitude although is kind of going crazy in the hospital!
    I am also thankful for your lack of serious injury in your accident. I was sore but that’s all– other than the flashbacks, I am fine, and I know that won’t last forever… unlike the love of our precious Lord!!!

  8. not2brightmom said,

    October 4, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    Catz… I am so thankful to hear that God granted mercy!

  9. catzgalore said,

    October 11, 2009 at 3:16 am

    My nephew started chemo today for abdominal carcinoma. It is a hard thing!! Yet in the face of all of this, I can be sure that God knows what He is doing….

    There is a little girl named Daisy who just had surgery for cancer. She’s five years old. Her daddy is the pastor of a church in the Santa Barbara area. I just watched the video of one of his sermons. I am so thankful that in these times of trials God gives us so much grace. God has called people from all over the world to pray for this sweet child.

    Watch the video to see what God is doing; what He does through His Word…

    http://prayfordaisy.tumblr.com


Leave a Reply

